Incoming Class of 2025 Students Receive CBA Presidential Scholarships

Christian Brothers Academy presented 27 Presidential Scholarships to eighth graders who scored exceptionally high on the Academy’s entrance exam and displayed an outstanding middle school record.

“Our Presidential Scholarships give us the opportunity to recognize those students who have achieved academic success in middle school and excelled on the Entrance Exam,” said President Brother Frank Byrne ’75. “I congratulate these young men on earning a scholarship and we look forward to having many of them as members of the Class of 2025.”

The scholarship winners represented 20 different schools in Monmouth and Ocean Counties and one school from New York.

While CBA could not hold its typical scholarship award ceremony, Brother Frank sent a personalized video congratulations to each of the young men.

It was CBA’s first president, Brother Andrew O’Gara, who made it his mission to make CBA affordable for any qualified student. Brother Andrew’s vision continues on with the Academy’s scholarship offerings, as CBA now awards over 60 full and partial scholarships to deserving students.

One of the three Presidential Scholarships bears Brother Andrew’s name. The second scholarship honors St. John Baptist de La Salle, the founder of the Brothers of the Christian Schools, which has operated CBA since its opening in 1959. The third scholarship, the Founders’ Scholarship, is in memory of the three laymen founders of the Academy: John Henderson, Peter Fleming, and Dr. George Sheehan.

CBA awards $1.9 million in scholarship and financial aid each year to current students.

The Presidential Scholarship winners included:

  • Henry Alston – Oak Hill Academy, Lincroft
  • Brady Ballou – St. Peter School, Point Pleasant Beach
  • Phillip Bodenski – St. Catharine School, Spring Lake
  • Connor Burke – Cedar Drive Middle School, Colts Neck
  • Thomas Feeney – Holy Cross School, Rumson
  • Joseph French – Forrestdale School, Rumson
  • Justin Fuerbacher – Thompson Middle School, Middletown
  • Brandon Grossman – St. Catharine School, Spring Lake
  • Finian Healey – Brielle Elementary School, Brielle
  • Aiden Holt – Wall Intermediate School, Wall
  • Brian Hughes – St. Leo the Great School, Lincroft
  • Nathaniea Huzar – Manalapan Englishtown Middle School, Manalapan
  • Jon Leidersdorf – Ranney School, Tinton Falls
  • Henry Lepri – Salk School of Science, New York
  • Gavin Neville – Bay Head Elementary School, Bay Head
  • Keegan O’Conner – Rumson Country Day School, Rumson
  • Jack O’Connor – Eisenhower Middle School, Freehold
  • Dylan Passo – Thompson Middle School, Middletown
  • Zachary Penley – St. Benedict School, Holmdel
  • Shreyan Ragudaran – Marlboro Memorial Middle School, Marlboro
  • Daniel Russo – St. Leo the Great School, Lincroft
  • Ryan Schmitt – St. Leo the Great School, Lincroft
  • Thomas Schneider – St. Dominic School, Brick
  • Joseph Seib – St. Rose School, Belmar
  • Ryan Shibles – St. Leo the Great School, Lincroft
  • Corey Taylor – Markham Place School, Little Silver
  • Steven Yurcisin – St. Leo the Great School, Lincroft
About Christian Brothers Academy:
Christian Brothers Academy (CBA) is an independent, Catholic, college-preparatory school for young men located in Lincroft, New Jersey. Founded in 1959 and taught in the Lasallian tradition, CBA is dedicated to helping students become intellectually mature and morally responsible leaders for the Church and society. Through generous contributions from family and friends of the Academy, CBA awards over $1.9 million in scholarships and financial aid to current students. Experience the Academy at