National Honor Society Chapter Welcomes 37 New Academy Men

The Christian Brothers Academy chapter of the National Honor Society (NHS) officially welcomed 37 new members on February 15 at the annual NHS Convocation.

Joining the 27 CBA seniors who were inducted previously, the 37 new members were accepted into this prestigious society, which is based on the pillars of Scholarship, Service, Character and Leadership. As is the tradition, Principal Neil Begley conferred the ceremonial golden tassels to each new inductee as a display of achievement.

“We gather to honor these young men who have excelled academically and contributed to the Academy with the talents of leadership, service to others, and extracurricular activities,” Begley said in his address. “Our inductees are truly well-rounded scholars and it is my honor as principal to celebrate their accomplishments.”

To be accepted into the NHS at CBA, students must have a minimum grade point average (GPA) of 91.5, obtained a minimum of 130 service hours, and achieved 10 school activities points, which includes involvement in CBA athletics, clubs & groups, and performing arts. Students are required to have multiple reviews and recommendations from CBA faculty and outside sources.

The newest class of inductees blew those marks far out of the water. The 37 Academy men exceeded the GPA minimum, worked an average of 143 hours of service, and gained an average of 20.5 activities points. Many of the new members hold valuable leadership positions as athletic team captains, executives in clubs, camp counselors, CCD teachers and Special Olympics leads.

“You have distinguished yourselves among a student body of already high-achieving young men,” President Ross Fales remarked to the newest inductees. “The pillars of the National Honor Society closely embody the values of Christian Brothers Academy. You are among the honored few who really exemplify CBA and this is about much more than just your grade point average. You’ve excelled in service, character and leadership, and that is what we are all about here at the Academy.”

Chartered at the Academy in 1965, the Saint de La Salle Chapter of the National Honor Society exists to promote scholarship, service, leadership and character among high school students. Membership is open to students who have completed at least five semesters at CBA and who exhibit the qualities of the four pillars to an exceptional degree.

Those students with the minimum academic average are invited to complete an application. Applications for rising seniors are considered in September. Applications for juniors and seniors are considered in February. The society is led by Ms. Morgan Biloholowski, a member of the English department faculty.

The society’s current executive board members (highlighted by blue robes above) include Matthew Herman (President), Richard Farina (Vice President), Brian Askin (Treasurer), Jack Butler (Parliamentarian) and Tyler Straley (Secretary).


Liam Crosby

Sukhraj Goraya

Sean Lawson

Stephen Makin

Dillon Martinez

Jack Ostrowsky

Luc Pavlinec

Colin Torres

Brian Williams


Daniel Albano

Giancarlo Apolito

Lucas Brown

Ethan Dilascio

Henry DiVita

Lachlan Forster

Brent Foytlin

Nathan Galinski

Sean Galvin

Mark Giacona

Andre Govignon

Alex Kemp

John Lakeman

Nicholas Mannarino



Ryan Martin

Denis Massa

Liam McGuire

Matthew McLaughlin

Manuel McPolin

Conor Mellor

Daniel Nguyen

Nicholas Ocone

Preston Pierre

Brady Prunty

Travis Spader

Harrison Stastney

Benjamin Tortorici

Jaden Vigneri

About Christian Brothers Academy:
Christian Brothers Academy (CBA) is a private, Catholic, academic preparatory school for boys located in Lincroft, New Jersey. Founded in 1959 and taught in the Lasallian tradition, CBA is dedicated to helping students become intellectually mature and morally responsible leaders for society. Through generous contributions from family and friends of the Academy, CBA awards over $1.7 million in scholarships and financial aid to current students. Experience the Academy at