Thirteen Seniors Recognized in National Merit Scholarship Program

Thirteen members of the Class of 2022 were recognized in the National Merit Scholarship Program for their performance on the National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (NMSQT), which is taken in conjunction with the PSAT during junior year.

George Collins, Jorge Gana, Jason Gentile, Matthew Gizzi, Kyle Hill, William Hines, Casey Hoffman, Andrew Kwapniewski, Ryan Ragan, Peter Rawlins, Andrew Sasso, Austin Straley, Matthew Thorn, and Christopher Tsimbinos were named national commended scholars.

In 2020, over 1.5 million students from 21,000 schools entered the National Merit Scholarship Program by taking the October PSAT/NMSQT. Of these students, 50,000 with the highest NMSQT Selection Index scores (calculated by doubling the sum of the Reading, Writing and Language, and Math test scores) qualify for recognition in the National Merit Scholarship Program.

These 13 CBA students were in the top-five percent of all students who took the NMSQT, earning the designation of national commended scholar.

The National Merit Scholarship program began in 1955 with the stated purpose of recognizing and honoring academically students in America. The program’s mission includes both promoting a wider and deeper respect for learning in general and for exceptionally talented individuals in particular and shining a spotlight on brilliant students to encourage their pursuit of academic excellence at all levels of education.

About Christian Brothers Academy:
Christian Brothers Academy (CBA) is a private, Catholic, academic preparatory school for boys located in Lincroft, New Jersey. Founded in 1959 and taught in the Lasallian tradition, CBA is dedicated to helping students become intellectually mature and morally responsible leaders for society. Through generous contributions from family and friends of the Academy, CBA awards over $1.7 million in scholarships and financial aid to current students. Experience the Academy at