St. La Salle Chapter of the National Honor Society Welcomes 32 New Members

The Christian Brothers Academy chapter of the National Honor Society (NHS) officially welcomed 32 new members on February 21 at the annual NHS Convocation.

Joining the 28 CBA seniors who were inducted one year ago, the 32 new members were accepted into this prestigious society, which is based on the pillars of Scholarship, Service, Character and Leadership. As is the tradition, President Ross Fales conferred the ceremonial golden tassels to each new inductee as a display of achievement.

“Our inductees are truly well-rounded scholars,” Principal Neil Begley ’96 said as he welcomed the inductees and their families. “We celebrate these young men who have succeeded academically and have contributed to the Academy with their talents, leadership, service to others and extracurricular activities.”

To be accepted into the NHS at CBA, students must have a minimum grade point average (GPA) of 91.5, obtained a minimum of 130 service hours, and achieved 10 school activities points, which includes involvement in CBA athletics, clubs & groups, and performing arts. Students are required to have multiple reviews and recommendations from CBA faculty and outside sources.

The newest class of inductees blew those marks far out of the water. The 32 Academy men exceeded the GPA minimum with a 96.3 mark, worked an average of 150 hours of service, and gained an average of 22 activity points. Many of the new members hold valuable leadership positions as athletic team captains, executives in clubs, camp counselors, CCD teachers and Special Olympics leads.

“It is important to note that you have distinguished yourselves amongst a pool of scholars,” Fales said to the inductees at the ceremony. “Not just at any school, but a school where those who come know that they are going to work hard academically. You should be proud of yourselves.”

Chartered at the Academy in 1965, the Saint de La Salle Chapter of the National Honor Society exists to promote scholarship, service, leadership and character among high school students. Membership is open to students who have completed at least five semesters at CBA and who exhibit the qualities of the four pillars to an exceptional degree.

Those students with the minimum academic average are invited to complete an application. Applications for rising seniors are considered in September. Applications for juniors and seniors are considered in February. The society is led by Ms. Morgan Biloholowski, a member of the English department faculty.

The society’s current executive board members – highlighted by blue robes – include Mark Giacona (President), Matthew McLaughlin (VP), Alex Kemp (Treasurer), Jaden Vigneri (Parliamentarian), and Preston Pierre (Secretary).


Keshav Ashok

Michael Child

Nathan Crawford

Matthew Dapra 

Henry Dohrenwend 

Jack Jaenicke

Ryan Koneval 

Drew Koscho 

Nicholas Licciardi

Dylan Looney 

Robert Sun 

Nicholas Volkov


Finnegan Connaughton

Michael Elsayegh

Justin Fuerbacher

Brandon Grossman 

Quinlan Hackel 

Sean Hillers 

Aiden Holt 

Brian Hughes 

Shane Langan 

Joseph Lippincott



Derek Lynch

Alexander Madpak

Carter McGuire 

Gavin Neville 

Daniel Russo 

Ryan Shibles 

Daniel Tsimbinos 

Cormac Whalen 

Steven Yurcisin 

Aidan Zagel  

About Christian Brothers Academy:
Christian Brothers Academy (CBA) is a private, Catholic, academic preparatory school for boys located in Lincroft, New Jersey. Founded in 1959 and taught in the Lasallian tradition, CBA is dedicated to helping students become intellectually mature and morally responsible leaders for society. Through generous contributions from family and friends of the Academy, CBA awards over $2.3 million in scholarships and financial aid to current students. Experience the Academy at