As is the tradition at Christian Brothers Academy, the student body gathered Wednesday morning for one final school mass, the LaSalle Liturgy, before the seniors finish classes on Friday.

Within the mass led by Father Garry Koch, the 2017 academic award ceremony also took place.

Presented by Principal Ross Fales and Associate Principal Sean Nunan, the following Academy men were honored for their outstanding academic and service achievements.


The Brother John Halpin Award for GENERAL EXCELLENCE
Awarded to……Matthew Prince
Next in Merit…Nicholas Karris

The Bishop George W. Ahr Award for RELIGIOUS STUDIES
Awarded to……Emanuel Lazzaro
Next in Merit…Matthew Prince

The Christian Brothers Award for RELIGIOUS SERVICE
Awarded to……Carmine Falcone
Next in Merit…Chris Zachariah

The Brother Albert Bernard McKenna Award for ENGLISH
Awarded to……Matthew Prince
Next in Merit…Tyler Gentile and Nicholas Karris

The Brother Andrew Valentine Award for SPANISH
Awarded to…….Julian Worden
Next in Merit….Emanuel Lazzaro

The John B. Higgins Award for FRENCH
Awarded to……John Dyer
Next in Merit…Fredson Desravines

The Brother Clement Patrick Gardner Award for LATIN
Awarded to……Sam Weber
Next in Merit…Travis Schuhardt

The John C. Henderson Award for MATHEMATICS
Awarded to…….Matthew Prince
Next in Merit….Nicholas Karris

The Doctor George Sheehan, Jr. Award for SCIENCE
Awarded to……Nicholas Karris and Matthew Prince
Next in Merit…Tyler Gentile and Emanuel Lazzaro

The Peter E. Fleming Award for HISTORY
Awarded to…….Tyler Gentile
Next in Merit….Emanuel Lazzaro

The Doctor William J. Zapcic, AFSC Award
Awarded to that student in the graduating class who in the opinion of the
Administration most exemplifies the spirit, ideals, and achievements of
Christian Brothers Academy.

Awarded to…Miller Corrigan.
Under the guidance of Mr. Jeff Matson, 20 of our graduating seniors completed their studies in the Scholars Program.

The Brother Michael Dwyer graduating scholars are:
Ethan Bateman, Christian Hettwer, Alfonse Niedermeyer, Daniel Berkowitz, Nicholas Karris, James Pannullo, Kirin Bhattacharya, Matthew Kelly, Travis Schuhardt, Benjamin Errichetti, Joseph LaForgia, Dominic Sepko, Tyler Gentile, Emanuel Lazzaro, James Smith, Kel Hakim, Matthew Markowski, Matthew Thorsheim, Jeremy Harris and Jack Murphy

This year, the following 18 of seniors were inducted into the English National Honor Society:
Jack Beck, Daniel Berkowitz, Kirin Bhattacharya, Andrew Broderick, Benjamin Errichetti, Tyler Gentile, Jeremy Harris, Nicholas Karris, Christopher Lautato, Matthew Lautato, Matthew Markowski, Jack Murphy, Nicholas Nowak, James Pannullo, Travis Schuhardt, Dominic Sepko, Dominick Tutrone and Sam Weber


Awarded to….Malachy Devine and William Henning
Next in Merit….Eric Hawkins

The Saint Brother Mutien Marie award for GENERAL EXCELLENCE IN THE SOPHOMORE YEAR
Awarded to….Michael Sardella
Next in Merit….David Ham

The Blessed Brother Solomon Award for GENERAL EXCELLENCE IN THE JUNIOR YEAR
Awarded to…Peter Hegel
Next in Merit….Michael Guarino

The 18th annual Duffy Senior Spanish Scholarship is sponsored by 1970 CBA graduate Sean Duffy, in honor of his parents.
This scholarship is awarded to the junior with the highest cumulative average in Spanish.
Awarded to…John-Gabriel Bermudez

The 12th annual Ceres Senior Physics Scholarship is sponsored by Mr. and Mrs. Gerald Ceres in memory of their son Gerald, class of 2003.
This scholarship is awarded to the junior with the highest average in Physics.
Awarded to…Peter Hegel
The 5th annual Frank Bulzis Senior Mathematics Scholarship is sponsored by Mrs. Doreen Bulzis in memory of her husband and our colleague Frank Bulzis.
This scholarship is awarded to the junior with the highest cumulative average in Mathematics.
Awarded to…John Sheridan

The 3rd annual Joseph Castle History scholarship is sponsored by Mr. Joseph Castle, CBA Class of 1990.
This scholarship is awarded to the junior with the highest cumulative average in study of History.
Awarded to…John Sheridan
The 3rd annual John and Carol DeMuria English scholarship is sponsored by John and Carol DeMuria, the proud parents of Jonathon (class of 2003), Daniel (class of 2011), and Nicholas (Class of 2016).
This scholarship is awarded to the junior with the highest cumulative average in English.
Awarded to…Michael Guarino

The Br. Frank Byrne Award for Theology is sponsored by Bill Moss ’75 and his wife Liz Moss, along with classmates and friends of Brother Frank.
This award honors the junior with the highest cumulative average in theology.
Awarded to…Michael Guarino

And finally, the LaSallian Educator of the Year Award was presented to Brother Joseph Brienza, FSC!

Congratulations to all of our deserving winners!

About Christian Brothers Academy:
Christian Brothers Academy (CBA) is a private, Catholic, academic preparatory school for boys located in Lincroft, New Jersey. Founded in 1959 and taught in the Lasallian tradition, CBA is dedicated to helping students become intellectually mature and morally responsible leaders for society. Through the combined efforts of the Office of Advancement and friends of the Academy, CBA awards over $1.3 million in scholarships and financial aid to current students. Experience the Academy at